The Asian University for Women (AUW) is governed by a Board of Trustees, which is currently chaired by Dr. Amit Chakma, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Western Ontario.  The initial Board of Trustees was elected by the International Support Committee of the Asian University for Women in 2009 in accordance with the provisions of the Charter of the Asian University for Women.

Asian University for Women Support Foundation (AUWSF) is incorporated as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization in 2002 based in the United States. The Foundation is responsible for mobilizing organizational, financial, and intellectual resources across the world to help establish the University. The Foundation will also be responsible for raising and maintaining the University's endowment. The AUW Support Foundation is overseen by a Board of Directors.

The University also enjoys the support of a number of the most important leaders in government, business, and academia, leaders who are collectively known as the AUW Council of Patrons.